PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

In my slow cooker today.... part 2

Options

Comments

• MrsT110309
    Options
    I have made a chicken stock in mine which is now cooled whats the best thing to do with it now, i.e how long will it keep and what sort of portions should I store it in if I was to freeze? As you can tell I am a bit of a novice when it comes to making stock. Please help
  • boredjellybean
    Options
    mine is having a rest today - yesterday I cooked a whole chicken which we had for dinner last night (we're having left overs in a pie tonight) then I put the carcas in overnight & made stock which I have just strained & am cooling before popping in the freezer

BJB
  • SkintG
    SkintG Posts: 81 Forumite
    Options
    Last night I did,

Diced pork Shoulder, browned with onions, garlic and apple slices. into the SC, deglazed the pan with a bottle of (homemade turbo) cider, into the SC with a dollop of Apple sauce.

Very very nice tender meat, with a lovely rich sauce, if anrthing just slightly sweet. served with mash and carrots and peas.

Making pork stock for a pork broth with barley, and a pork and pea soup, will also use leftovers with loads of veg to make a pork stew.

Not bad to make two lunches and two teas for about a fivers worth of ingredients
  • Big_Nige
    Big_Nige Posts: 144 Forumite
    First Post
    Options
    I made broccolli & stilton soup (stilton to be added before serving) yesterday for today's lunch. Soup is always better the next day :j
    Every day above ground is a good day.
  • Sublime_2
    Sublime_2 Posts: 15,741 Forumite
    edited 12 January 2010 at 12:01PM
    Options