Are you ever embarassed by your money-saving ways?

edited 17 November 2009 at 7:32PM in Old Style MoneySaving
297 replies 58.7K views

Replies

• I am never ashamed Im rather proud.
    I have just returned from a quick look around the local charity shops - my DS came with me (he is 14) and we had a good rummage for clothes and books.
    I do it all, from charity shops to whoopsies to bulking out mince with lentils to doggie bags to asking for stuff for free (have got the kids some posters for their bedroom from a computer game shop).
    Its to be admired.
    You can stand there and agonize........
    Till your agony's your heaviest load. (Emily Saliers)
  • leedleed Forumite
    181 Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
    I am a teacher and twice a year we get a book fair in with frankly ridiculous prices. I teach (and live) in a quite poor area with high unemployment and I don't think it's fair to ask children to buy books for £5 upwards. My own child goes to my school and I never buy her book fair books - I usually let her order a pack of books from the Book People instead. Plus the book fair books tend to be quite gimmicky, rubbish rather than proper books to read.

It is wrong for teachers / schools to put pressure on parents via children to buy books at book fairs - I was/am never afraid to look and smile and say 'no thank you' if I don't want to buy anything at fairs or stalls.
    I'm another one who is a bit embarrassed at how much I've wasted over the years.
    When I first got married I was a bit embarrassed of OH's money saving ways but over the last 12 years I've grown more like him. I used to hate him taking little packs of salt etc when we were out, but think nothing of it now. He uses them to take to work for his bait.

I think you might have to expain what 'bait' means to non-geordies! (I know what it means!)

Plus I'm quite happy to accept hand me down clothes for the kids rather than paying out most of my salary to Next.