New Post Advanced Search

Your Cheapest Evening Meal.

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Old Style MoneySaving
194 replies 126.7K views

Replies

• sloppychopssloppychops Forumite
    6.7K posts
    Whitefiver wrote:
    I've always been rather partial to egg, beans and chips (HM). Fairly cheap too.

Regards,

White.
    Oh your making me hungry.You cant beat egg and chips and maybe a sausage or 2.
    Yolks have got to be runny and lashing of tomato ketchup on it all.
    "Life is not measured by the breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."
  • aimeelisteraimeelister Forumite
    600 posts
    ✭✭
    As a student I would often have some of the value noodles (8p) made up with a packet of cup-a-soup, value of course, for extra flavour (7p). The chicken with a chicken soup were often very good and all for under 15p. Infact i still do it when we have the add water ration packs whilst out training with the TA, makes the food slightly more appetising (give me the boil in the bags any day!)
  • My cheapest is chilli non carne. I say non carne as this is a veggie version.
    soya-about a cup full of the dried variety(mince)20p
    1 tin of tinned tomatoes 16p
    chilli powder to taste 5p
    1 tin of red kidney beans or baked beans 18p
    2 beef stock cubes 10p(tesco value)
    tomatoe paste(3 tsps)(lidl)5p
    1 large chopped onion10p
    Half a baf of value rice 28p
    I think thats the lot! Total cost approx £1.12 feeds 4
    Annual Grocery budget 2018 is £1500 pa £125 calendar month £28.84 pw for 3 adults
  • Now that's Cheap :laugh:
    A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

Savings For Kids 1st Jan 2019 £16,112
  • Scouse

Any beef, lamb or mince (traditionally ppl used the the leftover meat from sunday roast)

2 medium potatoes
    1 onion
    2 carrotts
    2 oxo cubes (beef)