suspended from work

Options

Comments

• alwaysonthego_2
    Options
    Surely you should have been told a time and a place when you was informed of the meeting. It is unrealistic for him to tell you at the last minute. Was you told by letter about the meeting and also the reason why the meeting was been held and what the disiplinary is about? Step one of the displinary procedure states that you should recieve a letter regarding the details of the meeting plus the accusation. They should also inform you that you are allowed to be accompanied by a union rep or collegue. If they miss step one then at a tribunal they will see any dismissal as being unfair.
  • debbie158
    debbie158 Posts: 42 Forumite
    Options
    hi was told where the meeting would be and time but he was taking me there due to me not being a driver i wouldnt have been able to get there, had a letter stating it was not a disciplinary and due to this my statutuory rights to be accompanied does not apply, goes on to say however, the company will allow to be accompanied by a fellow employer and that it would be up to me to make the neccesary arrangements
  • DON79
    DON79 Posts: 3,842 Forumite
    Options
    I would still insist on having a witness, statutory right or not! He is just trying it on so that there will be no witness. You must insist on having a witness present, otherwise it will be your word against his which is exactly what he probably wants. If you do pick a fellow employee, pick carefully - even friends at work might not be of much use in this situation even if you do trust them.

Best of luck!
    BSC #215/No.1 Jan 09 Club
  • debbie158
    Options
    Havnt got anyone who i can trust as a felow employee and i wouldnt want to put them in that situation tbh. But everything i have got to say is all written down and i will also ask for a copy of the minutes
  • ceebeeby
    ceebeeby Posts: 4,357 Forumite
    Options