Great Cheap Ways To Make Your House Safer Hunt

Comments

• Carpet gripper screwed inside the fence near the top.

Be wary of doing things like this, if a would-be Burglar were to cut themselves or injure themselves on any barbed wire, glass on ledges or anyting else designed to hurt them, you can be liable! Make sure you put signs warning the danger, otherwise you could get sued. (ridiculous isn't it!!)

I am a Scenes of Crime Officer with the police and have attended thousands of burglaries, all of the posts so far give very sound advice, this is the general advice I give to victims of crime:-

Get yourself a Cheap alarm. Basically if a Burglar wants to get into your house, he'll find a way in. Your job is to make it more difficult for him. I know most people ignore house alarms but burglars don't. In my experience less gets taken when an alarm is going, because offenders need to get in and out quick incase they have been seen and the Police are on their way.

You dont need an expensive system, just 2 PIR sensors and a Box, Yale do a decent wireless alarm for about £150 with 2x PIRs and 2 Door Sensors and it simple to install youself so you cut down on the price there.

Mortice/Deadlocks
    These are a must for anyone with wooden doors, the Yale lock itself, just isn't strong enough, a quick shoulder to it and its open, and if you have glass panels in it even more insecure. Also if you have a cat flap or similar don't leave keys in then door! Get Five Lever Mortice locks - The best.

Window Locks Believe it or not but those fantastic UPVC windows you were sold aren't as secure as the saleman made you believe. Most windows can be forced open with a screwdriver (even those with locks on the handles-useless) get down to B+Q/Home base and pick up a pack of sturdy window locks that fix to the frame and the opening edge of the window.