Grrr - blue badge

Options

Comments

• zzzLazyDaisy
    zzzLazyDaisy Posts: 12,497 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I have a genuine chronic health condition that can put me in bed for weeks at a time. I receive DLA high rate care and mobility, indefinitely - and you dont get that easily. On the days that I am well enough to go out I am dependent on my car, but I know that to people who dont know me I look like a young (ish!) fit healthy person. Sometimes I walk with a stick, sometimes I don't. But I need the disabled bays because I need the extra space to be able to get out of my car.

I know it is tempting to judge, but you can't always tell if a person is disabled just by looking at them (although I will admit, I couldnt sprint to a cash machine, even on my best days!)
    I'm a retired employment solicitor. Hopefully some of my comments might be useful, but they are only my opinion and not intended as legal advice.
  • daska
    daska Posts: 6,212 Forumite
    Options
    So far, on the examples given, the chances of my 'rule of thumb' being generally incorrect would seem to be negligible?
    Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants - Michael Pollan
    48 down, 22 to go
    Low carb, low oxalate Primal + dairy
    From size 24 to 16 and now stuck...
  • Babshubbie
    Babshubbie Posts: 116 Forumite
    Options
    daska wrote: »
    So far, on the examples given, the chances of my 'rule of thumb' being generally incorrect would seem to be negligible?

I think you are absolutely right, daska.

The dispute is what to do about it. There is a school of thought that says no-one should be challenged because disabilities are often not obvious. The other school say you should challenge and those who genuinely have a disability should not mind these challenges.