Glasses Buying Cost Cutting Plan Article Discussion Area

Options

Comments

• Steve_xx
    Steve_xx Posts: 6,976 Forumite
    Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    The subtext is that it's too expensive for them to reproduce and the risk of them not be quite right on the fitting side. This of course underlines the importance of correct fitting and that cannot be achieved by an online provider.
  • paul.n_2
    paul.n_2 Posts: 18 Forumite
    edited 17 March 2016 at 3:55AM
    Options
    I've been buying glasses on-line for 3 years now.
    Initially I bought 2 pairs of multifocals/progressive lenses, neither of them were really satisfactory with distortion towards the base of the lens the main issue, but at least they were useable.

My latest pair though from Direct Sight DS are a disaster, and totally unusable.
    WARNING! Their website claims they don't do refunds on prescription glasses because they are custom made. Which basically means they can send you any old junk as they would only ever do a partial refund.
    Ok so how about if you used PAYPAL? nope they don't either, not for anything custom built.
    As has been pointed out previously, if you value your eyesight - your Pupillary Distance and Height are critical for fitting multifocal/bi-focal lenses.

Online suppliers should not be allowed to fit by guesswork, which is effectively what they are doing.
  • AngelaSwan
    Options
    Does anyone know of an optician that will fit lenses, (Varifocal) into my own frames. I have just had my eyes tested at Boots. The Rayban frames that I wanted were £230. I have just found the same frames, same serial number online for £75. I did read somewhere that Asda do this. After reading a lot of the comments I don't think that I would want an online company to fit lenses.
  • sjoyce
    sjoyce Posts: 1 Newbie
    Options