PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Gingerbread men and other ginger bread recipes

Comments

• Hi All,

I'm a newbie here but was just wondering if anyone could help me out. Ive been trying to get into the christmassy spirit by baking gingerbread men but they've all turned out badly!

Have tried three different recipes, one came out really sticky, the other had about 20 ingredients and tasted weird and the third just ended up as gingerbread crumbs.:confused:

Although it probably serves me right for trying to be a domestic goddess (lol), I still want to try and make a decent batch. Has anyone got a tried and tested recipe they could pass on?

Thanks!

Lucy
    :A
    Very excited to be marrying my partner in crime for the last 7 years in September 2012 :j
    No longer a midlandsfairy... back living in the sunny south!
  • Hiya

I made this a couple of weeks ago, it makes loads so I ended up freezing half of the dough to make later on

Gingerbread

225g Self raising flour
    110g Brown sugar
    110g Butter
    1 egg beaten
    1 large tbsp Golden syrup
    2 tea spoon ground ginger

Crean the butter and sugar together and add the syrup, mix the ginger into seived flour with the beaten egg and stir the whole mixture to make a dough. Roll out, cut into shapes and bake in oven at about 180 for roughly 20 mins.

These came out not too gingery which is good for me as im not overly keen on ginger but you can add how ever much you like to taste :)
  • Thanks for that, thats brill. Will try making them tonight. Fingers crossed!!!

Lucy
    Very excited to be marrying my partner in crime for the last 7 years in September 2012 :j