Section 75 refunds - article discussion

Options

Comments

• Barneyknows
    Options
    I have just been credited with £4257 for a claim that I made for an alarm system we had fitted, the company went bust when we had paid for 10 years monitoring etc. I have never done anything like this before and even though the claim took three months from start to finish, I am now wondering if I have to use the refund to have another alarm system fitted, or can we just sit on the money for a while. The letter from the bank said it was to pay for a system from a company we sent a quote for, we have had others since and we really don't want to go with the company in the banks letter. The acceptance letter I signed just said a full and final settlement between my bank and the original alarm company.
    Any information would be welcome.
  • derrick
    derrick Posts: 7,424 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I have just been credited with £4257 for a claim that I made for an alarm system we had fitted, the company went bust when we had paid for 10 years monitoring etc. I have never done anything like this before and even though the claim took three months from start to finish, I am now wondering if I have to use the refund to have another alarm system fitted, or can we just sit on the money for a while. The letter from the bank said it was to pay for a system from a company we sent a quote for, we have had others since and we really don't want to go with the company in the banks letter. The acceptance letter I signed just said a full and final settlement between my bank and the original alarm company.
    Any information would be welcome.

The money is yours, do with it what you want.

Don`t steal - the Government doesn`t like the competition

• Sandraw
    Options
    Please help (first timer here!)