September 2008 Grocery Challenge. Please read first two posts.

Comments

• Hi Everyone

A NSD today. Have a portion of curry from the freezer for my dinner tomorrow. I'm trying to make some room in my freezer as it is full and things are just rammed here and there and don't know what I have. Which makes you disorganised. Have a good evening everyone.
    2024 Decluttering 2292 ⭐️
  • Julimk
    Julimk Posts: 349 Forumite
    Hi everyone

I am a complete newbie, I have never posted on any forum before. But I have been aware of this site for a while & have followed a number of tips.

I have been reading this thread & some connected ones over the weekend & would like to join in if not too late - £200 for Sept – meaning the calendar month. Tomorrow (working at home) will update once I have totted up what I have already spent over the first week.

As I understand it should guestimate to start with & adjust as get more of an idea of what actually spending? I intend to include food & cleaning stuff etc. The nearest supermarket is Tesco & there is a Coop local 100 yards away, but the town has two other Tescos, a Sainsbury’s & a Somerfield.

May seem a little high as it is only me & DD (9) but she has expensive tastes! Hopefully can adjust it down fairly quickly but she was complaining today that her Dad doesn’t buy anything she likes now that he is budgeting!

That said I used some water I had cooked a gammon joint in to make a pea & broccoli soup for lunch today (peas & broccoli from the freezer, swirl of crème fraiche as there was a little bit left in the fridge) and she loved it!

Looking forward to the challenge & reading more tips …
  • TheBees
    TheBees Posts: 601 Forumite
    Evening everyone