Finding a job following dismissal for gross misconduct

Options
Shazza122
Shazza122 Posts: 177 Forumite
edited 25 February 2014 at 6:34PM in Employment, jobseeking & training
Hi,

Newbie here.

Just last week, following a three week investigation I was dismissed for gross misconduct. I did something really silly (without realising it was against company rules) and after a successful four year career with my employer, including two promotions I have lost my job :(:(

Life has been very hard since this all started and I've not been in a very good place. However I need to find work and I am aware GM on my record is not exactly going to be a selling point but I would really like some advice on how to approach applications/interviews etc.

Shazza

If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply. If you aren’t sure how it all works, read our New to Forum? Intro Guide.

[threadbanner]box[/threadbanner]

Comments

• AP007
    AP007 Posts: 7,109 Forumite
    Options
    Firstly what was it that got you fired?
    We’ve had to remove your signature. Please check the Forum Rules if you’re unsure why it’s been removed and, if still unsure, email forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com
  • monty-doggy
    Options
    Do you need a reference from this employer or do you have someone else?

I was dismissed from my job for gm last year and I was devastated. I did a temp job before Xmas which meant I then had a reference from my latest employer.

As ap says, to get proper advice, give some indication of what you did?
  • Shazza122
    Options
    I let my OH use my business charge card for a personal purchase.

I'm responsible for the payment of card so ex employer had no financial responsibilities but it was against company policy...yes I should have read T&Cs closer I know....believe me nobody could beat me up over this any more than I have done to myself already!!!
  • Shazza122
    Options