IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

Is the term Bus Gate legal?

Options
Hi

I accidentally drove into a lane labelled 'bus gate'. Pure accident as I was lost... tho I must be PUNISHED for my crime !!!:mad:

I was just wondering if that term is in fact allowed to be printed on the road instead of bus lane? :cool:

Also, this bus gate forked from a main road, so do the council still have to display a warning sign that there is a bus lane ahead, or is that just when the lane is on the left hand side of an existing road?

Ta very much :p

Comments

• LincolnshireYokel
    LincolnshireYokel Posts: 764 Forumite
    edited 30 June 2012 at 4:57PM
    Options
    I suspect there will be smart kids along later, and im no expert on this one, but first i suspect there woudl have to be TRO to make such a road marking, and secondly it woudl have to comply with statutory markings.

Theres nothing about a 'bus gate' in here

http://assets.dft.gov.uk/publications/traffic-signs-manual/traffic-signs-manual-chapter-05.pdf
    **** I hereby relieve MSE of all legal responsibility for my post and assume personal responsible for all posts. If any Parking Pirates have a problem with my post then contact me for my solicitors address.*****
  • fatbadger2
    fatbadger2 Posts: 195 Forumite
    Options
    THANKS,but what is a TRO and how would that help? :)
  • LincolnshireYokel
    Options
    Traffic regulation order, required to make any sort of road sign or marking legally enforceable. usually all stored atthe Council Highways department and you have a right to see them.