The Great ‘how to win at hotel bidding websites’ Hunt

Comments

• dmg24
    dmg24 Posts: 33,925 Forumite
    josie wrote: »
    Yes, it's just that Expedia et al., do such a good deal on combined hotel and flights, like in my example in NYC, that I'm only actually paying £185 for 5 nights and I don't think I'd do any better with Priceline or Hotwire.

I could be wrong as I'm a newbie to this, but it looks like about £50 a night would be about the minimum for NYC?

Will definitely try London next time we go, tho as I've done the "Top Secret" deal on lastminute.com with them which has certain similarities to this, in that you don't find out the hotel til after you've paid, but also you can't bid - it's a fixed price.

Are you paying £185 for 5 nights, or £185 x 2 = £370 (i.e. is the price based on two people sharing?). What star rating is the hotel Expedia are offering?

£450 is a lot for a flight - do you want to post your dates to see if we can find cheaper (maybe start a new thread for this)? I am flying to NY for £150 this week, I wouldn't expect to get it this cheap, but you can usually pick something up for around £250.
    Gone ... or have I?
  • GlennTheBaker
    GlennTheBaker Posts: 2,974 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Has anyone used priceline for Amsterdam and were you happy with results/hotel/ and priceline? lol..:j
    I've used Priceline for Amsterdam on 2 occasions. Both times my winning bids were around £55. The first time I got the Renaissance (close to Centraal Station) and the second time, the Marriott (near Vondelpark and the museums). Both were superb. The stay at the Marriott was over New Year and the price if booking direct was very high so it was a real bargain.

Do as others have advised and read blindman's guide, as well as reseraching previous winning bids on Bidding For Travel and Better Bidding.
    This space has been intentionally left blank
  • n1cn1c
    n1cn1c Posts: 21 Forumite
    duchy wrote: »