Car Insurance Tips & Tricks

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,093 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Your trick for lowering car insurance costs by insuring in parents name is illegal. Don't do it. If the insurer finds that the young driver is the main user (ie accident on the way to work) they will throw out the claim and decline insurance. If they do that just try getting insurance anywhere, at any price. You wont. I've been doing motor insurance for 30 years. Trust me on this one.
  • System
    ;D

Hi

This is my first post on here, what a great website!!

Just been reading a few of the tips above and I must admit, they have brought it down a bit:

Im just 20, with 2y10m driving experience and 1yrs NCB, driving a 2000 VW Golf 1.4S.

With https://www.elephant.co.uk I was quoted £654, thats pretty damn good!!

Im also using a 0% CC to pay it off as advised in another aprt of this site!!
  • Can I just put out a word of warning?

When taking out car insurance (I did with Tesco) check they include free green cards.

I just had to pay extra for mine and will do every time I go abroad. £26.00 last time. OUCH!

Paul
  • System
    Re 'protected no claims bonus' - we have been protecting our NCB for years, but a couple of years ago had an accident (my fault). On renewal the premium had risen substantially. When I queried this, saying we had protected NCB, I was told that I had not lost or had my NCB reduced, but that the actual premium itself had been loaded due to the accident! and that the underwriters were at liberty to do this.

So much for 'protected': what is the point of having 65% NCB when the insurance company can double the initial premium? ???
  • Dan29
    Dan29 Posts: 4,760 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary