Forever Starts Now

Comments

• starnac
    starnac Posts: 5,917 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    edited 12 January 2022 at 10:24AM
    sabsob said:
    Hi starnac, late to your diary, but as a newer newbie, I wanted to wave. Your house sounds lovely, and I totally get how Covid will have impacted a choice to move - we live in the countryside, and being able to be away from everybody within a few minutes' walking was a huge blessing during lockdown. I'll be following your journey :)
    Hi sabsob, welcome. Ha! I can totally see how that was a blessing! 

It's really odd here as even though I am pretty antisocial, my work means that I know a lot of people in the community (plus small village) so I whenever I was out in the village I would see loads of people who wanted to speak to me. Now we've moved I don't know anyone here so it's odd when I'm out and about to not speak to anyone. 

Saying that though, I regularly see the breakfast club ladies on my home from dropping my son to school. They seem to come out as I'm on my way home. They always say hi. Plus I walked to work Monday and saw a woman who's daughter I helped on Boxing Day and she stopped to say Hi. So I kind of feel like I'm settling in now :D 
    Goals for September
    Declutter 10/20
    Money Made £56.52/£200
    Overpayments £0/£200 not this month as need to put into savings instead
  • sabsob
    sabsob Posts: 67 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    Villages definitely take a while to get settled into, don't they? We sometimes joke that we are only about 3 generations away from being "local" :)  It's nice that your work makes you part of the local community - mine doesn't, but we connect in other ways, through the library, etc.
    Declutter challenge: List 312 things in 2022: 45/312
    Mortgage-free Wannabe: Re-mortgage at start: £131,423 (27th Jan 2022)
    OP since re-mortgage: £1500
  • starnac
    Oh that is so true of small villages!