Money Moral Dilemma: Is it 'morally wrong' to use student discounts aged 55?

Options

Comments

• FifiRossi
    Options
    That's like saying it's morally wrong to be a student at 55. I'm an Open Uni student, whilst working full-time with two grown up children. I use student discounts and NHS staff discounts whenever I remember to use my card :smiley: There's also Amazon Prime for students but I don't have time for it.
  • bettyboo71
    bettyboo71 Posts: 280 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker PPI Party Pooper
    Options
    I'm 50 and a part-time student. I have my totum/nus card and will use it as much as I can. 
    I'm paying my own course fees, I'm not working, and there's nowhere in the terms that has any sort of age/hours of study restriction. Student discount is no different from any other promotional discount offered by a company to any particular group of people.  
    If you qualify for it, you would be silly not to use it - we're all on MoneySavingExpert for goodness sake!

• A_Lert
    A_Lert Posts: 609 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    No. Your son's being a bit of a twit.
    It would only be wrong if a discount is explicitly for full time students, but retailers and service providers don't usually bother making that distinction.
  • Susmcl
    Options
    No its fine!
  • REJP
    REJP Posts: 325 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    You satisfy the criteria for being a student.  If your son does not like you getting student discounts he is the one with the problem, not you.  Hopefully he will grow up one day.