Money Moral Dilemma: Is it 'morally wrong' to use student discounts aged 55?

This week's MoneySaver who wants advice asks...

I'm a 55-year-old mature student doing a continuing education course at a university, which is about two hours a week, plus reading, studying etc. As such, I have a university email address, which means I'm eligible for all manner of student discounts. My 20-year-old son, who is also a student, is appalled that I can do this and says it's "morally wrong" as I'm "not a proper student". Is it wrong for me to take advantage of these offers? 

Unfortunately the MSE team can't always answer money moral dilemma questions as contributions are often emailed in or suggested in person. They are intended to be a point of debate and discussed at face value.

B  If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply.
  Got a Money Moral Dilemma of your own? Suggest an MMD.
Follow MSE on other Social Media: MSE Facebook, MSE Twitter, MSE Deals Twitter, Instagram, Threads, Join the MSE ForumGet the Free MoneySavingExpert Money Tips E-mailReport inappropriate posts: click the report buttonFlag a news story: news@moneysavingexpert.com

Comments

• No, it’s not morally wrong, as long as you aren’t misrepresenting your status.
  • JoC13
    JoC13 Posts: 1 Newbie
    First Post
    I am appalled that they are viewing this the way they are, frankly I was shocked. You are a student therefore you can receive student discounts, age has no bearing on it at all.