Ready for the next stage!

Options
riotlady
riotlady Posts: 442 Forumite
First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
edited 20 September 2020 at 9:25PM in How much have you saved?
Hi everyone :) 
Things have been a bit stressful around here lately (as they have been for everyone!)- I'm in my second year of an msc and I'm juggling placements, assignments and a research project, as well as a lovely 2 year old- and we've let spending get a bit out of hand. I've started using Emma to track our spending, and last month we spent £420 on food shopping for the three of us and £150 on takeaways, eating out, lunches in the work cafeteria etc. I'm a student and my partner earns part-time minimum wage, so we definitely don't have that sort of money to throw around and I really want to get on top of it before it gets any more out of hand. I will hopefully be in proper employment early next year, and we're also saving for our wedding and to buy our first house, hence we're ready for the next stage of our lives! 

Current situation: No debts, aside from my student loans, which I plan to ignore as a. they're scarily high b. I'll never pay them back in full and c. I'm not earning enough to have to pay anything back yet anyway. 

Savings:
Emergency fund: £600 (goal £1000)
Wedding fund: £2000 (total budget is £5000, but we've already paid £800 in deposits etc. so remaining £2200 to save) 
Lisa: £210 (goal: ??? We were hoping to pay a 5% deposit, for which we'd need £6-7k, but that depends if £5% mortgages are back on the market by the time we hope to buy at the end of 2021. Also want to save a couple of grand for fees and moving costs). 
Help to save 1: £950
Help to save 2: £650
We pay £50 (the max) into each of the help to saves each month + will receive a 50% bonus on our contributions next year, which will then go into the LISA for our house fund) 
Total savings: £4410 

Comments

• Skint_yet_Again
    Skint_yet_Again Posts: 7,567 Forumite