The Crossover Point

Zola.
Zola. Posts: 2,204
First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
Forumite
edited 1 November 2021 at 10:44AM in Mortgage-free wannabe
I thought I would make a shiny new diary detailing my family's journey to the end goal of becoming debt free.

Five years ago my wife and I bought our first home. After a lot of saving, we put down a decent deposit and entered into a five year fix at 3%. A year ago, my wife gave birth to a beautiful little boy and he is keeping us really busy and brings a lot of joy, as well as sleepless times ;)  OH works in Account Management, I work in IT & Marketing.

The five year fixed deal is almost up and we have just agreed to enter another five year fixed deal at 1.9%.  I know rates could go down, but it still feels like such a good deal and I like the stable monthly cost.

Over the past five years, we have over paid by around £6000, which has made such an impact... we now owe around £106,000, soon to be in the five figure club!!!

We plan to over pay each month once the new deal starts, as well as investing on the side.. 

The theme of this diary is our journey to mid 2025, where I have projected (health and God willing :smile: ) that our mortgage balance (including the overpayments) may meet a point in our S&S ISAs where we have enough to pay off the mortgage (as long as there is no huge market crash between now and then, also assuming 5% returns).

I don't think we would actually pay off the mortgage, but it would be an amazing goal for us to achieve, to at least have that choice.

Until then, I will aim to document frugal hacks we discover, ways to side hustle for extra cash on the side and anything else which positively pushes us towards our goal.

I hope I can provide some fun discussions, value and interest to people on a like minded path!

Cheers!
Zola  :)

Comments

• Grogged
    Grogged Posts: 865
    First Post Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Forumite