Do airline fare 'sales' really offer bargains?

Has any research been done on how real airline 'sales' really are?

Virgin, for example, is pushing its 'Winter sale' right now, while many other airlines do the same thing at various times. I'm doubtful, though, that I'll really get a better price on flights booked during the sale period than I would following the standard advice from MSE as to when and how to secure the best fares for selected destinations.

Are airline 'sales' just marketing hype, designed simply to encourage passengers to book now rather than later, or do they really offer a discount off fares that would otherwise apply for the same trips? Does anyone really know?

Comments

• jpsartre
    jpsartre Posts: 4,085 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    I've no personal experience with Virgin but have seen BA prices go down during sale periods. That said, the whole idea of a sale makes less sense for airline tickets given the highly dynamic nature of prices. And there are no guarantees that the price for a ticket during a sale is the lowest it will be before departure.
  • Sharon87
    Sharon87 Posts: 4,011 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Yes I've had some bargains in the sale. Easyjet for instance, I was tracking a flight it was £45 2 weeks before the sale, £50 1 week before the sale and during the sale it was £40. For a cheap flight that's pretty good.

I think you have to be fast for the sales for popular destinations to get the best value.
  • Westin
    Westin Posts: 5,938 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    My experience with Virgin is that fares only drop down £25-£30 pp when in the sale on the routes that I frequent. Peak travel periods like school holidays rarely included in the sale periods.
  • Ngozi
    Ngozi Posts: 175 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper