Free Personal Plumbing Info.

Options

Comments

• Minxy
    Minxy Posts: 91 Forumite
    Options
    Hi

THe pipe that goes into the cold water tank in my loft seams to be leaking (not all the time). It is not in the middle of the pipe but at the end where is connects to something else (you may have guess I am not very technically minded). Do you think I can get something to seal it myself, I saw an advert for something called Loctite Repair Express Power Putty and wondered if that or something like that might work?
  • plumb1_2
    plumb1_2 Posts: 4,395 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Minxy wrote:
    Hi

THe pipe that goes into the cold water tank in my loft seams to be leaking (not all the time). It is not in the middle of the pipe but at the end where is connects to something else (you may have guess I am not very technically minded). Do you think I can get something to seal it myself, I saw an advert for something called Loctite Repair Express Power Putty and wondered if that or something like that might work?

It will be the tap connector on the ballvalve, all you will need is a new Fibre Washer(10p) call into any good diy store. You will need a adjustable spanner and a pair of Grips.
  • wishiwasarichgirl
    Options
    Mint1955 wrote:
    We have a new to us (but 3 year old house) and thought that when it got hot just lately we could turn of the heating and just leave the hot water running from our gas central heating boiler. Problem is some of the radiators still get hot. The only way we can get cold rads in some rooms is to turn of the thermostatic valves on the actual radiators. Is this normal. Regards Sheila

i get this too just with my bathroom radiator. doent bother me cos in winter i keep the heating on anytime i'm at home and in the summer i have all the radiator thermostats turned down. be interested to hear the answer though,