*Make upto £10 a day April 2018*

Options

Comments

• cufc_mike
    cufc_mike Posts: 587 Forumite
    edited 17 April 2018 at 11:03PM
    Options
    Thinking of using my payments to start putting towards my overpayment of the mortgage pot. Not paying anything off till I have at least £500 as it then brings the monthly payment down. I know this doesnt knock any time off the mortgage but with me soon dropping a day at work, less outgoings are more important to me at the moment.

I am going to put my mortgage total in my signature to keep me motivated.

I have 7 years left but am hoping I can knock this down to 5.

Good luck with this KM! I've been doing this since December 2017. I split my daily earnings 2 ways now (used to be 3), with 50% paying off a mortgage, and 50% going into savings to pay for things like holidays/birthdays/days out etc, general things to better our lifestyle.

We own a flat that my late mother in law owned. She had no mortgage on it, but when she died she left it to my wife and her 2 brothers. They both wanted their share of the property in cash, but there was a private long-term tenant, so we looked upon it as an investment for the future, and ended up taking out a mortgage on it, albeit relatively small. I've knocked 19 months off the length of the mortgage since December. It's such a huge motivation to keep going. I can only pay another £600-£700 off before August; however we're due to re-mortgage at that time anyway.

I've been making daily overpayments because I'm not very disciplined. If I tried to save £500 and then make a one-off payment, I'd probably end up spending it on something else :rotfl:
  • cufc_mike
    cufc_mike Posts: 587 Forumite
    Options