The Great ‘Store Returns Policy’ Hunt. Who, what, where and when?

Options

Comments

• hollydays
    hollydays Posts: 19,812 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    YAZZA wrote: »
    I work in retail and the refund procedure is not that simple. A credit card statement only shows that a customer has brought one or more item for that amount but it doesn't show what. So I think that statements shouldn't be used as a proof of purchase as some customers take advantage of the system.

Why should retailers accept statement just because customers have lost their receipts?? (for non-faulty goods).

Yet According to Jada (sorry Jada nothing personal), if you say you have lost your receipt you can get gift vouchers-NO proof of purchase whatsoever!! Having no receipt doesnt show you bought ANYTHING-so explain that. or see my simple explaination below.
  • Jada
    Jada Posts: 43 Forumite
    Options
    hollydays wrote:
    Mother Teresa comes into her shop-she returns a dressing gown she paid £20 Sor.Unfortunately the only "crime " she has commited is losing her receipt.It was the only thing she bought in La Senza,but luckily she has her Bank Statement which shows £20 paid in La Senza.Now, she knows her consumer rights-so knows legally that she is not entitled to anything back (silly her,she should not have lost her receipt),but as she knows La Senza pretty sensible about things.However-she shows her statement,with clear evidence of who she is-imagine her surprise to be refused a refund.

She is even more surprised when Wynona Rider walks into the shop with a £70 dressing gown.She tells the staff she has lost the receipt. The staff happily give her gift vouchers-which she then sells on Ebay.

Sorry, I don't know what this has to do with anything? This debate is getting very weird!!!!

:staradmin Jada :staradmin
    £3,500 @ 0% with Bank of Scotland - pay off before 05/02/10