Regular Saver Thread **New and Restarted**

Options

Comments

• GPK10
    GPK10 Posts: 53 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Hi

I am new to this thread but not to regular savers - I have all the 5%ers and remember fondly the days of a Barclays 10% RS.

Does anyone have thoughts on using Chip as a regular saver? It could be £600+ per month at 3-5%?

Thanks
  • karlie88
    karlie88 Posts: 9,114 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Gers wrote: »
    Couldn't do the TV licence thing as they only allow a six month DD in the first year.

With TV licence DDs (when setting them up), they do take 12 monthly payments - it's just that the first 6 month pays the current year you're in. The next 6 months pays for half of the following year. After this, you're essentially paying off the remaining cost of the licence in the first 6 months of the year and then start paying next year's licence over the remaining 6 months.

Bottom line is, they take a DD out on a monthly basis.
    matty17r wrote: »
    Thank you so much for this information. Thought I had got all the best regular savers but missed this one. Nice and simple as well as all ready have the club lloyds.

That's good to know. Another family member wasn't aware either - maybe more people are not aware?

They thought that because they had the Club Lloyds Monthly Saver, they would be ineligible for their standard monthly saver paying a lower interest (they thought it worked like HSBC's 3/5% and Santander's 3/5% reg savers).

I just needed to highlight that Lloyds' monthly savers are actually difference products. :)
    :grouphug: :D Official MSE canny forumite and HUKD VIP badge member :D :grouphug:
  • Westie983
    Westie983 Posts: 5,213 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    edited 25 February 2018 at 12:52PM
    Options
    Hi Folks,

I cannot find anything that has changed for this weekend's update.