Rubbish Kia Warranty - pay to check symptom.

Options

Comments

• bigadaj
    bigadaj Posts: 11,531 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    buglawton wrote: »
    Weirdly, my wifes driving instructor used to suggest riding the clutch to keep the car still when waiting on a slope.

Well it's one way of developing clutch control whilst you're learning.

I got very good at it when I was learning, though this was due to having to do hill starts in my fathers old marina when he wouldn't get the handbrake fixed.
  • Strider590
    Strider590 Posts: 11,874 Forumite
    edited 6 July 2017 at 7:26AM
    Options
    PMSCAMMELL wrote: »
    Our Picanto is 2.5 years old and done 8600 miles. Just had to pay £514 for a new clutch because they said it was worn and due to bad driving. I have been driving for 50 years and never bought a clutch. Our last car, a Nissan Micra was 12 years old from new and done 60,000 miles without a new clutch. Kia are rubbish and this Full 7 year warranty is a confidence trick. Customer service is non existant. I plan to take this further using the press to warn others. The question is When is a full 7 year warranty not a 7 year warranty? Answer - if its a KIA/. Obviously I do not expect new tyres or wipers etc but ..... come on a clutch after 8600 miles. Someone is having a laugh and it is not this pensioner.

Problem is that in many new/modern cars the clutch has no feel to it, you could literally floor it with one finger, which means if you rest your foot on it AT ALL, your likely to increase wear without knowing it.

On my Mondeo I can't drive with my foot near the clutch pedal it's so "soft", luckily they do provide a foot rest. When I fist got the car I had several occasions where the car lost power for no reason, turned out to be the weight of my foot pushing the clutch pedal down.
    “I may not agree with you, but I will defend to the death your right to make an a** of yourself.”