It has to stop

Options
This is my first post on here although I've lurked for a while.
Completely and utterly disappointed with myself that it's come to this but a combination of bad luck and bad decisions has led me here.

I have just under £15k of unsecured debt - spread over an overdraft, 3 credit cards and a store card.

Until 3 years ago my credit was still high but I was actually paying off good amounts and had worked out I would be debt free within 3 years. Then just as I completed a degree and my earnings increased my husband was made redundant- he had always been by far the main wage earner. Unable to find a job he decided to go self employed- long story short this hasn't been as successful as he has hoped and tie last 2 years I've had to cover my own bills plus all of the household running costs and bills. This has meant that I have only been able to pay minimum payments and even added to my debt as at times had to use credit card for petrol
And food shopping.

My husband had even more debt than me, again wasn't a problem when he was earning a good salary but he's currently earning virtually nothing.

Have had to do extra shifts just to break even but now I'm at breaking point. We are considering doing a joint DMP but need to speak to stepchange (am waiting on figures from hubby so we can make the call)

Bankruptcy or IVA isn't an option as he has a lump sum due back to him Dec 17 but has to use part of this to pay back family members. I am also in the process of waiting on a possible tax refund so again don't want this to be swallowed up by an IVA.

We have our own house (mortgaged) with no equity and part of the mortgage is still on an interest only deal - we need to get this completely swapped over to repayment but can't afford to right now.
So. There it is. Our failures and shortcomings
Oct 2016 current unsecured debt £14461.31

Comments

• doingitanyway
    Options