PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

New here and really need to sort myself out(please move if in wrong place)

Options

Comments

• maman
    maman Posts: 28,705 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Sounds like BF may be a bit depressed gemma so I'm not making light of his situation. I think what happens is the less you do the less you want to do and then end up in a downward spiral. But (although I'm no expert or doctor) I'm convinced that forcing yourself to achieve something is a way out.

I'd have thought writing a CV/flyer explaining that he's been to college and done part time work on farms would look good. As the weather is picking up (allegedly!) then grass is starting to grow and I'd have thought lots of elderly people will want help with gardening.

I only know Cornwall as a tourist but would I be right in thinking that you travel (with all the costs involved) to Plymouth to Primark? Are there no retail jobs in Liskeard? If you're on a low wage then travel takes a big chunk.

What's on the agenda for today?:)
  • gemmajenkins0208
    Options
    He has just applied for an assistant greenkeeper at one of the local golf clubs :D It's technically like what he's used to, just on a smaller scale.

There are shops and things here but none of them seemed to be taking on while I was looking for work. This time last year I literally applied for 50 jobs doing anything and everything in the space of about a week and primark were the only ones to get back to me :o

And I'm on the living wage now so the travel costs aren't too bad :)