How much do you spend on food?

Options

Comments

• pumpkin89
    pumpkin89 Posts: 647 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    As a forum newbie, I'm amazed at how little some people seem to be spending! I spend about £150 a week for myself and my husband, which I appreciate is a lot, but I can't imagine doing it for under £50.
  • Cornucopia
    Cornucopia Posts: 16,180 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    edited 18 June 2018 at 2:19PM
    Options
    £30 per adult should be easily achievable, with the only "compromise" being shopping in Lidl and/or Aldi for the majority of things. (It's not really a compromise, but some people seem to find that it takes getting used to).

For that you should have enough for all main meals, perhaps with a modest amount of batch-cooking, for sandwich/salad lunches and a variety of breakfast items.

Even adding a cheap bottle of wine (as we're discussing on another thread) shouldn't bump up the price too much. (Other "tipples" are also available - I quite like the Lidl (Woodgate) Vintage Cider).

Thread: Cheap Red Wine
  • bopsybunny
    bopsybunny Posts: 109 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Our grocery shop usually adds up to about £300 per month, sometimes up to £70-80 per week, for 2 adults. This is including toiletries, cleaning products, etc. We worked this out a year or so ago when we started 'properly' saving for our house deposit.
    Currently cutting back on lots of things for a final savings push so we can buy a house in a few months' time.