Benefits, self-emplyment, "gainful employment" and "minimum income floor"?

Options
Can anyone please explain these all to me? Particularly what is meant and how benefits are affected by:
  • gainful employment
  • minimum income floor
I just can't work out how this is going to apply to us, even if I wasn't a student.
I'm studying at uni, we have three kids (youngest is almost three) so claim CTC and HB, and my wife has just started a home bakery business so we've started claiming WTC (our area isn't UC yet). We're trying to be prepared for when the youngest hit full-time school age and my wife will be forced to find work in order for us to keep receiving the various benefits.
So how do they asses if it counts as 'gainful employment', and how do they work out the 'minimum income floor' for us as a couple? I read somewhere that my income counts towards it as a couple? Its not written anywhere in plain and simple English.
Also, if anyone knows what's going to happen long-term in terms of HB, that'd be great too!
Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.
- Mark Twain
Arguing with idiots is like playing chess with a pigeon: no matter how good you are at chess, its just going to knock over the pieces and strut around like its victorious.

Comments

• missbiggles1
    missbiggles1 Posts: 17,481 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Naf wrote: »
    Can anyone please explain these all to me? Particularly what is meant and how benefits are affected by:
    • gainful employment
    • minimum income floor
    I just can't work out how this is going to apply to us, even if I wasn't a student.