A little penguin's ramblings!

in Debt Free Diaries
123 replies 8K views
:wave: Hello :wave: I'm a bit tentative about starting this and not 100% sure I'm in the right place. I don't have enormous debts (yet) unless you include my student loan which is oh so slowly getting smaller, but will have before long if all goes to plan. I started a positive things diary when I first joined but it's fallen by the wayside a little particularly on days that feel less positive. I'm planning to link to here on my phone to remind me to post as often as I remember.

The reason for starting this diary is to hopefully motivate myself. I've been saying for ages (probably since I moved home 4 years ago) that I need to start some serious saving and now it seems all the more important now I'm talking about moving in with my OH.

I'm 28 and live with my parents. I'm definitely ready to fly the nest for the second time and OH and I have been looking for a place together on and off since February. We have money set aside for a sizeable deposit and I'm conscious that I'm providing very little of this so wanting to save more so I can contribute more. I have become very money conscious and keep finding myself saying 'but I'm supposed to be saving towards a house' when I want to buy non-essentials.

Aside from saving, I want to be more productive and take steps towards having a healthier lifestyle. I've started this already, beginning the summer holidays (I'm a teacher) getting up at reasonable hours and having a to do list to get through each day. This week I've already been to Aqua Zumba once and I've booked to go again tomorrow.

I feel like I'm waffling now! So I'll be back tomorrow with an update (once I've thought of a title for my little diary!)
NSDs January - 3/8 2017 total - 3
declutter challenge 67/2017
Goodreads Challenge 0/30

Replies

• PenguinJimPenguinJim Forumite
    844 Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭