Lloyds bank asking for employment information

Options
I've got a Lloyds bank classic account (so no frills at all), and when I logged in this morning they asked me to update the information they hold about me.

They asked for my employment status (which is self-employed) and the name of my employer or the company I am self-employed through (I'm a sole trader, so I just put down my own name and address).

Then they asked for my net income and frequency of payment. I don't have a net income as such, or a frequency of payment - I invoice as and when and pay my self-assessment tax at the end of of the year. I didn't want to claim to have an 'income' when I don't (although I do make a taxable profit each year) so I ended up leaving that as zero.

I'm not sure if that was the right thing to do - is it likely to have a negative impact on anything else?

Comments

• Cycrow
    Cycrow Posts: 2,639 Forumite
    Options
    they are most likely asking for your income so they can use it for their internal scoring to offer you credit products in the future.

its unlikely to have any affect on your current account, and if you have no plans of getting credit from them any time soon, then i really won't make a difference to you.

if/when you want credit from them, you could always update the information
  • Atidi
    Atidi Posts: 943 Forumite
    edited 28 November 2013 at 12:47PM
    Options
    tyllwyd wrote: »
    I've got a Lloyds bank classic account (so no frills at all), and when I logged in this morning they asked me to update the information they hold about me.

They asked for my employment status (which is self-employed) and the name of my employer or the company I am self-employed through (I'm a sole trader, so I just put down my own name and address).