Top 10 service companies to haggle with

Options

Comments

• dave2k
    dave2k Posts: 11 Forumite
    Options
    Hi,

I am a software developer and I thought of a service which may be of use to you...

How about a website which does the bill haggling for us? Not everyone has the time to spend ages talking to people on the other end of the phone.

The website would take any details required by sky/bt/etc and would do the negotiations on your behalf, and would notify you if any progress is made.

The way I envision it currently is that you'd pay in a small fee, perhaps £15, which would cover the cost of the negotiating. If no deal happens, you get your money back. If a better deal is negotiated, you don't get the money back, and you contribute a small % of your savings to the website.

Thoughts please!
  • Doc_N
    Doc_N Posts: 8,283 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    Sounds like an excellent idea, if nobody's already doing it. The fee could even be avoided altogether if the service provider paid a commission to the negotiation service - though that might raise legal issues.

Not everyone enjoys negotiating a deal (always amazes me how many people pay list price for a car, and how many people are still on standard energy contracts) - this could be perfect for them.

Dragons' Den next?
  • ryan121
    ryan121 Posts: 209 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    dave2k wrote: »
    Hi,

I am a software developer and I thought of a service which may be of use to you...

How about a website which does the bill haggling for us? Not everyone has the time to spend ages talking to people on the other end of the phone.

The website would take any details required by sky/bt/etc and would do the negotiations on your behalf, and would notify you if any progress is made.