oh my life...... Light Bulb moment.

Comments

• MiMi66
    MiMi66 Posts: 198 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    edited 9 February 2013 at 2:52PM
    conisme wrote: »
    I'm no expert on bank loans but I'll give you my opinion.

The reason you didn't get a consolidation loan is probably because you likely tried for a high amount.

You are using a high amount of your available credit and although you have no defaults,CCJs etc or bad marks on your credit report they won't give you any more than around 40% of your annual wage as a loan especially as you have it all on credit cards. Consolidation rarely works in the eyes of a bank because most people don't get rid of the credit cards.

My advice would be pay off the non 0% ones as quickly as you can.

Try this also http://www.whatsthecost.com/snowball.aspx

Put in all your cards and APRs and balances and how much you want to put towards the debt each month and it will tell you how to pay them all off as quickly as you can.

At least you have woken up and are facing the problem. With the help of people on here you will be able to do it.

Good luck :D

Thank you to Conisme for the link -I just did the snowball calculator - interesting and food for thought!

I tells me that if I paid £420 a month in repayments I could pay off the debt by August 2017 - 3 years before my plan......that is with renewing the 0% when I can - shuffling - hmmmm - interrrrresting.......

I am going to look over my figures and see what I can do currently planning on £380 a month but if I can trim £10 a week of food and life and stuff maybe I can do that extra..... (£380 a month would get me debt free Feb 2018 the Snowball calculator says.....) Hmmmmm.

I am fearful of setting the goal too high and failing it early and losing the will to live.... not being melodramatic - just a little maybe....

Lunch and then thinking time......
    MiMi66 2023 and moving forward ☺️
    £38154 - DEBT FREE May 2021