Fence spray or just brush

Replies

• bombermanbomberman Forumite
    49 Posts
    has anyone tried normal fence paint with these sprayers yet?
  • savingsara_2savingsara_2 Forumite
    266 Posts
    I started painting the fence at the bottom of our garden - oh my shoulder after 2 panels, ouch! (kept swapping hands but it didn't help)
    My OH, being ever so helpful took his compressor and spraygun etc down there and proceeded to help - unfortunately burning the compressor out in the process :cry: Still got another seven 6' x 6' panels to do.....

I notice Asda had the cuprinol sprayer cheap the other day, but no sign of any wood treatment :confused:
    Anyone know if it's on offer anywhere?
  • wizzerwizzer Forumite
    177 Posts
    bomberman wrote: »
    has anyone tried normal fence paint with these sprayers yet?

I've asked the same question myself and I think the answer is yes. If you look at the application instructions for some of the 'ordinary' fencing treatments a lot of them say they can be applied by 'low pressure sprayers'.

I think a lot of the ones that come with the sprayers are probably over-priced just to get more money out of you!

I think any water based treatments should be ok whereas others might be thicker and tend to block the spraying lance/head unless careful.

I'm going to give it a go though particulary when the B&Q own make sprayer is about £10 - £15 cheaper than Cuprinol/Ronseal!
    I say what I like, I like what I say!
  • gr1340gr1340 Forumite
    79 Posts
    I bought the Cuprinol sprayer (and a tin of the paint to match )at Homebase the other week as I had about 8 panels to paint. Stuck the batteries in and tested with water, great it works. Filled it with paint and got started.

Took about 2-3 minutes to paint one side (and also the rear of the neighbours bbq but they never noticed!!) and was quite pleased with the results although I did go over it with the brush to finish it off (30 seconds work).