How does Expired MOT affect insurance claim?

Options

Comments

• paddedjohn
    paddedjohn Posts: 7,512 Forumite
    First Anniversary
    Options
    Circumstances don't vary, the car either had an mot or it didn't an in both cases the insurance will pay out but they will reduce their offer due to lack of mot.
    Be Alert..........Britain needs lerts.
  • Kinsella_C
    Options
    Hi guys, this is my first time posting on a thread so take it easy on me.

On Friday morning I had a head-on collision with a lorry on a "unsuitable for HGVs" road. You guys seem very clued up and I was wondering do I have an argument here? - (i.e. the lorry shouldn't be on the road as it was 26tonnes (HGV is anything over 7.5tonnes) ??)

More importantly; I made the mistake of totally forgetting my MOT had expired and I am worried my insurance will not pay out. The car is taxed and I have been paying my insurance every month - and I even got a full service done on the vehicle just before the MOT expired! I am covered by the partner company of "Quinn Direct" (Liberty Insurance) and they have pretty much identical Terms and Conditions; " make sure the vehicle is kept in a roadworthy condition and, if necessary, has a valid NCT certificate." - I read a post on here from a while back (2007) and a member (sho_me_da_money), who was with Quinn Direct, was in a similar predicament to myself and ended up (after writing a letter of appeal), receiving a full pay out minus 5% for not having an MOT.

Can anyone here help me out further? - I could really do with some good news this week!

Thank you for taking the time to read this

CK
  • forgotmyname
    forgotmyname Posts: 32,580 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Unsuitable for HGV's is not a HGV's MUST NOT.

It will depend on the road and the truck itself. If the driver had a delivery and that was the only access and not prohibited then he wont have broken any law.