'Shop staff quoted nonsense rights at me...' blog discussion

Comments

• rickbonar
    rickbonar Posts: 448 Forumite
    Mind you it was made in UK ........... the label that is!
  • rickbonar
    tara747 wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

6 bags of stuff for £450? I've filled 3 for £40 before!!!!

The other lady did say it was around Christmas and all the shops put the prices way up a few months before ready for Christmas...........
  • scheming_gypsy
    scheming_gypsy Posts: 18,410 Forumite
    Looby123 wrote: »
    I'm a newbie on here so apologies, I wasnt sure how to post or where to put this, so its here!!!

I bought a Dell Inspiron laptop from Tesco direct and collected it instore on 3rd April. Last Saturday it decided not to work at all.. programs disappeared and couldnt easily log on/off to laptop at all...

I spent 10 hours on Saturday trying to reboot and restore to factory settings to see if this helped - it didnt. Eventually I sued Dells PC check on their free support section - everything passed except the hard drive, which failed.

Dell advised me they could repair it, but I said I wanted Tesco to refund or replace the item as I dont want a repair that could possibly go wrong again in a few months. Dell advised that Tescos should honour my request as the laptop is only 2 months old.

Today, Tescos have refused to replace or refund my laptop - they say that they're prepapred to repair it and thats good enough under SOGA - I explained that 2 months wasnt a satisfactory timeframe for me and that I wanted a replacement - they refused telling me to contact Trading Standards. I have done this, however all they've advised me to do is write to Tescos asking for a replacement or refund. Whilst I'm happy to do this, I'm concerned that this will take weeks to resolve, and in the mean time I'm without my laptop.. having to use my desktop whiich is a major inconvenience!