We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Save 45% on .com, .org and .net addresses. Grab your own personal domain

Options
12346»

Comments

• Martin81162
    Options
    lfc4ever wrote:
    ok guys i am new to all this but i am interested in setting up a website! But i am stuck! What do I do once I have bought a domain? Can I use a free webhosting and change the address? thanks

Hi, yes you can use free webshosting services for your domain. You can do a search for free web hosts but I would read the T&C's when choosing one because there are usually limitations on what you can do with a freebie.

All you would need to do once you find a host is to goto your domain control panel and enter the DNS of your host against your domain name (your new host will give you the DNS info). After a while your domain will show your new page.

When choosing a new host try and search for some reviews so that you can hear what their customers say about them.
    Martin
  • Sky_Digiman
    Options
    Try https://www.heartinternet.co.uk/freewebhosting.shtml im using that for my site. You upload by FTP so it would be best if u had something like Frontpage, Dreamweaver, etc and if your really advanced notepad.
    the Money Saving Expert team do not moderate forums, so if you see something that shouldnt be here report it! :beer:
  • Martin81162
    Options
    Try https://www.heartinternet.co.uk/freewebhosting.shtml im using that for my site. You upload by FTP so it would be best if u had something like Frontpage, Dreamweaver, etc and if your really advanced notepad.

I've just signed up for this free pacakge but I've noticed that there is a catch. You have to transfer your domain from your current registrar to Heart.