We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Save 45% on .com, .org and .net addresses. Grab your own personal domain

Options

Comments

• lpc_3
    lpc_3 Posts: 20 Forumite
    Options
    Hi

I have been involved with domain names for almost 8 years now and I could say that I have some experience as it is part of my every day work life.

1and1.co.uk has the best prices for .uk domain names. It is a good registrar, providing a very well structured control panel so anything that you will probably want to do is just in front of you.

One day I made a mistake and bought by mistake a domain name from 1&1. I called them and they refunded me immediately. This is something that you don't get from any registrar! I never heard any registrar doing something like this and I wouldn't expect anyone being so helpful and generous.

If you are interested in buying .com or .net (or similar) domain names I would suggest godaddy, I use them for a couple of years now (for hosting also) and I have to say that they are really good. Again nice control panel, frequently improved, great prices, very good support.

None of these refer to what we call in my work sector "mission critical hosting companies" so I wouldn't use them to host an e-commerce web site for a business worth anything more than 10,000 GBP but for anything else, they are just PERFECT.

If you have any doubts, questions or you need any kind of IT help, don't hesitate to ask me, I'll be glad to help you (I don't read the forums daily but I always answer emails).

BTW I was surprised to see this post on MSE forums as 123-reg is NOT the best solution (or even the cheapest). I suppose that MSE is only human after all ;)
    :: No unapproved links in signatures please - FT ::
  • lpc_3