PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Hobbies/Crafts and MoneySaving ...

Options

Comments

16011996 Posts: 8,313 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    bonnie,

also look on the freebies boardm there are quite often free cinema tickets on there (there is a sthread thats sticky at the top about it) might be useful.

• Tuttifruitty_Theresa
    Options
    you can also join other forums and volunteer to be a moderator for them. I'm a mod and administrator on another forum and it keeps me busy, i'm always popping on to keep it running smoothly.

Also you could run a coffee morning and raise funds for charity or as others have said work in a charity shop, i have done this and it's a great way of spending a few hours.

xx
  • Seakay
    Seakay Posts: 4,265 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    beemuzed wrote:
    I love reading, but am getting better at borrowing rather than buying books these days!
    My sewing machine has gathered dust in recent years - nowhere seems to sell material these days (or knitting wool! I'm old enough to remember when wool shops existed in large numbers!) - this year I WILL try to sew and knit again as both are relaxing to do.
    I walk the dogs - but sadly usually consider this a chore reather than a hobby - especially when gales and rain are beating down as today!

Have you tried searching the Internet for online sellers? Here are a few to start you off:

http://www.storyvelvets.co.uk/htmlfiles/profile.html

http://www.shetland-wool-brokers.zetnet.co.uk/

Try ebay, or Google "Buy knitting yarns" or "buy dressmaking materials" and keep it to UK only to keep p&p down