Clothes - Treat or Necessity?

Comments

• I like high quality clothes (although I'm not into following fashion and am not a label snob). I'm fussy about mostly only wearing natural fibres too, which are usually more expensive than synthetics. Basically, if I like something, I'll buy it, whether it's from a cheap shop or somewhere more expensive.

Having said that, clothes are a luxury at the moment, and all clothes buying is on hold until I'm debt-free. But when I have more discretionary income, I'll be setting some aside for nice clothes again, and won't feel bad about it!
  • Are cheaper clothes necessarily better value than more expensive ones?

I've got a Next suit which I bought for £120 when I graduated five years ago and it's still going strong and looks great when I wear it - normally once or twice a week. On the other hand I've lost count of the number of times I've bought something from a shop like Asda and then had to re-sew popped seams and then throw away after a few months when the colour fades or the elbows wear out.

What does everyone else think?

Kat
  • KatrinaC wrote:
    Are cheaper clothes necessarily better value than more expensive ones?

I've got a Next suit which I bought for £120 when I graduated five years ago and it's still going strong and looks great when I wear it - normally once or twice a week. On the other hand I've lost count of the number of times I've bought something from a shop like Asda and then had to re-sew popped seams and then throw away after a few months when the colour fades or the elbows wear out.

What does everyone else think?

Kat

i think more expensive clothes are ok for classic items, like your suit, that won't go in and out of fashion in a week. but things that are high fashion and likely to be scorned soon after buying are better from primark, where by the time they fall apart, they won't be cool anymore.