PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Lots more Sneaky Ways to save the pennies

Options

Comments

• HOWMUCH
    HOWMUCH Posts: 1,296 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Lady_Bee wrote: »
    I'm new to this thread and have picked up some great ideas!

I wonder if anyone can give me their thoughts on this, I have a combi boiler so have the problem of waiting quite a while for the water to warm up if the heating isn't on. I have previously collected this wasted water when washing up to water the garden with but I've never collected from upstairs. I plan to do this to use to flush the toilet as tipped off here.

Anyway, my question is this, I wash my hair over the bath using a shower attachment (not actually in the shower) and once I've started I tend to leave the water running even when I'm shampooing and conditioning. I do this because even though I'm wasting the water I don't like to keep firing up the boiler as I think that this uses extra and unnecessary gas. What do people think? I've recently discovered a water leak in my toilet so I'm now on a water saving drive but don't want the gas bill to be going up instead!

Thanks in advance :)
    People collect their water either in buckets are large bowls to flush the toilets.
    Why pay full price when you may get it YS ;)
  • consultant31
    consultant31 Posts: 4,814 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    tattycath wrote: »
    Great idea...this is where I come unstuck as I have a terrible obsession with notepads. I think I've probably got about 40+ kicking around, in all different sizes. From A4 pads, exercise book style, to small jotters. :o