Anyone used Rointe heaters?

Options

Comments

• dickllewellyn
    Options
    I am a newbie

I am not affiliated with any company other than my own electrical contracting company

I do not believe the claims made by Rointe

I do however feel that electric heating has been mis understood on here.

A rointe heater uses oil as a storage source. Oil retains heat better than air. A £10 convector heater heats air. If we accept that the denser a material is, the better the heat storage capacity, we can agree that a cubic meter of oil heated by 1kW electricity for 1hour will retain heat for longer than a cubic meter of air heated under the same circumstances. At the end of the hour, the convector heater will rapidly cool along with the air temperature, whilst the oil filled radiator will keep releasing it's warmth for some time.

Electric underfloor heating can be effective as a primary heat source, provided it's designed properly. A good in-screed system with flag stones for example will also retain heat nicely and act to keep a house warm. A simple heating mat under ceramic tiles or vynil floor will be very comfortable to walk on bare foot, but will not effectively serve as a primary heat source in an economical manner. Under floor heating can be complimented with ceiling heating elements, effective insulation, and even a heat recovery unit feed lost warm air back into the building.

Airsource heat pumps are also worth looking at if you can cope with the set up expense, and replacing all your radiators with a wet underfloor heating system (a lot of upheaval), but you may want to consider complimenting with a solar PV set up to off set the electricity usage, possibly a solar hot water panel to reduce the heat pumps burdon. The renewable heat innitiative will come into play soon, and will work much like the current feed in tarrif for PV.
  • Cardew
    Cardew Posts: 29,037 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Rampant Recycler
    Options