Options

Comments

• LittleVermin
    LittleVermin Posts: 737 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    edited 7 June 2011 at 7:14PM
    Options
    scotmac1 wrote: »
    .............What other information will you need to give me an idea of running costs of a £10 fan heater as I am keen to find out?

I'm no electrical engineer but I'd say that for the same power (in watts) the cheapo fan heater would have the same running costs as a rather more expensive Rointe heater*. Wouldn't you?

Both are converting electrical energy into thermal energy at 100% efficiency ... Magic isn't involved!

*But Cardew has already made this point! (http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showpost.php?p=44228064&postcount=55
    Apologies!
  • Cardew
    Cardew Posts: 29,037 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Rampant Recycler
    Options
    scotmac1 wrote: »
    Regarding running costs, I can advise that my lounge is roughly 28m2 with very good insulation, temperature required 20/21 or 22ºc for example and, say 10 hours of use. What other information will you need to give me an idea of running costs of a £10 fan heater as I am keen to find out?

You don't seem to understand what I have been saying.

Any electrical heater has an efficiency of 100% - be it the oldest 1/2/3 bar fire, a fan heater, a panel heater, oil filled radiator or your Rointe heaters.

So they will all give out exactly the same heat/warmth/BTu for the same running cost.

So the heat/warmth/BTu you get from your Rointe heaters for say £1 is the same as you will get from any other electrical heater.
  • LittleVermin
    edited 7 June 2011 at 7:03PM
    Options