Anyone used Rointe heaters?

Options

Comments

• jamiecol
    Options
    Hi , ive just sat here and read this lengthy thread , Im a carpenter so no expert in electrics but get most of whats been said and points people have made but still a little confussed as to what i should do.

I have an electic rad system in my house much like any normal gas or oil system but runs off a 12kw electric boiler which heats the water , This only does my heating and not my hot water but is mega expensive to run [£280 a month and about to go up] Ive tryed running it all the time but keeping the stat low and just having it on for short time in morning and an hour before i get home from work but doesnt seem to make any difference , Also because my house has no cavity walls and no insulation stuggles to keep the heat in and when its really cold like it has been doesnt warm the house that well.

So my question is would i be better off with these rointe or simular type heaters ie would they be a cheaper option than the system i already have ?

Also i get the point few people make about fan heaters oil filled heater ect that for every kw they use thay cost the same weather it be a 10 quid heater of an exspensive one , But say you get two differnt 2 kw heaters but the heat output is better on one than the other would that not make it cheaper and more efficient than the other giving out more heat for the same amount of electric being used ?? Like i said no expert in this just a question .

cheers
  • Cardew
    Cardew Posts: 29,037 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Rampant Recycler
    Options
    jamiecol wrote: »
    But say you get two differnt 2 kw heaters but the heat output is better on one than the other would that not make it cheaper and more efficient than the other giving out more heat for the same amount of electric being used ?? Like i said no expert in this just a question .

cheers