PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Question for home bread makers - Tiger bread

Options

Comments

• Strez
    Options
    Tiger bread/baps/cubs were created by Don Job in the 1980`s. He was head baker at a place called The Oven Door in Penzance, Cornwall.

I was a baker for ten years and made the paste mix by hand and the ingredients was only the following :

Rice flour, veg oil, salt, yeast, water thats it, this was hand whisked in a bucket to nice paste then left to stand. this was then applied to semi-proved products (it must be applied quite thickly) then reproved causing the mix to crack before entering the ovens.

The bread mix is just a plain white like every other white roll or loaf produced nothing extra is added

Im with this one, ive just bought warbutons tiger bread, if you take all the bread off the crust and just try the crust you cant taste the nutty taste just over cooked crust.

so i think the nutty taste is just the perception we have for over cooked crust.
  • Spiritedwolf
    Options
    Has anyone cracked this yet? I'd love to know if anyone had success with malt extract (as it was mentioned in the supermarket recipes) because I'd like to try it but it would involve a special trip to pick some up from a health food shop (I'd imagine). I don't have sesame oil either, do we think it is in the topping or not - is it worth getting some just to experiment with Tiger toppings? What else do you use sesame oil for?