Fraud investigation income support, advice appreciated

Options

Comments

• Oldernotwiser
    Oldernotwiser Posts: 37,425 Forumite
    Options
    markyb1888 wrote: »
    Welsh i dont know where to start with your post there are a lot of things a bit off the mark.

Firstly the only problem here is the money i won in november as it is capital that i realise has to be declared because it is over £16k saving.

Pretty much everything in your post isnt relevant as either way im over the £16k and which is all that matters , online poker and earning from online poker are perfectly allowed its just the £16k+ saving that arnt which has created the problem.

I have been playing poker for about 3 years but the only time i have crossed the £16k savings is through the televised tournament.

In regards to how i won my televised seat , i won it in a $1 sattelite.

I wouldn't be so confident about the £16K amount; savings/capital between £6K and £16K affect benefits as well and you need to declare anything over the lower level rather than the higher.
  • kittiej
    kittiej Posts: 2,564 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Would this be classed as earnings/ income and not in fact savings?

I would imagine they are going to say it's your responsibility to inform them of any money over x amount.

I could sort of see that you could get confused about exactly what is classed as earnings, these days I expect everything is paid to you into the bank, at least when the old benefit books existed there was info on the back pages for you to refer to.

I wonder how many people win on scratch cards, lottery, bingo, horses etc and don't declare any of it, but then again perhaps people don't realise that this is something that needs to be declared?

Does the DWP have literature regarding winnings I wonder?
    Karma - the consequences of ones acts."It's OK to falter otherwise how will you know what success feels like?"1 debt v 100 days £2000
  • Oldernotwiser