Medical Insurance Cost Cutting Plan Article Discussion Area

Options

Comments

• PMI_Broker
    PMI_Broker Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited 11 April 2011 at 6:43PM
    Options
    To the person looking for PMI for a 16 year old, Health On Line do children's policies and the rates are very cheap too.

Their transfer criteria is not too onerous either, as long as you have nothing planned or pending you should be able to switch to them.

Obviously I'm a broker and I've just joined the site, read right through this thread and saw that a broker recommended National Friendly. They have now withdrawn from the market and left their policyholders in a pickle, I'm pleased to say that I never thought their product was sustainable and I did not offer it to any of my clients.

PMI is no different to life in general, if something seems too good to be true then it generally is.
  • SusanSpain
    SusanSpain Posts: 58 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Don't know if this is the right place to be starting.... But... I need to know the difference between PMI and PHI... I can see the former is covered here to a great extent, but would like to know more about the latter.
    Thanks for any experts out there! :)
  • Whataday
    Options
    Hello, I am new to posting on the forum, but have been lurker for quite some time.

I want to take out some private medical insurance. I have checked with my employers and they don't offer anything.

I am looking for a good level of cover with no caps on outpatient coveror limits on procedures.

I am 29 and in good health but do have mild asthma which is very well controlled.

I have had a look around and got a few quotes and they do vary a lot. I have got what seems like a good price for Tesco Finest PMI, which is £47 a month and looks like it offers a lot of cover for the money, this is with a two hundred excess per year. It is not a six week option or anything, immediate treatment.