Natwest and RBS to charge for branch withdrawals

Replies

• chambtachambta Forumite
    2.8K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    deutsch wrote: »
    When I worked as a cashier for Natwest, I refused "debit card" cash withdrawals for any other bank and told them it wasn't possible. The entire team did. This was because the Natwest computer system does not have access to other banks network of computers. This included RBS debit card holders due to the RBS system being different to the Natwest system. We always had the "aren't you both the same institution" reply.

If it was a "credit card" for another bank and they had ID with them, it was possible but we would still need authorisation from the other bank's credit card. There was a charge for a cash withdrawal from a credit card. This type of transaction wasn't often. I don't think the article means this though.

What I understand is that Visa cards will be charged. The thing is, Natwest were migrating all their debit cards to Visa from Maestro, so all the normal natwest customers who withdraw money at the counter with their visa debit card will be charged. You'd be surprised the number of people who don't use ATM machines.

The confusing bit is that I didn't know a debit card could be used at a 3rd party bank to withdraw money at the counter. It didn't matter whether it was Maestro/Visa for the other banks card when I was at Natwest. Could someone clarify this. (I don't work anymore. Lost my job few months back) Maybe it's new?

This is not the case.
  • stclairstclair Forumite
    6.8K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    agsnu wrote: »
    Well it would be patently ridiculous if a Natwest customer was charged for withdrawing from a RBS ATM, but not from a Lloyds (or any other LINK member bank) ATM.

Lol that so isnt the case.

Its only for branch counter withdrawls.

If you read the new T&Cs its clear what the process is and what the charges are referring too.
    Im an ex employee RBS Group