countersigning passports

Options

Comments

• CharleneUK
    CharleneUK Posts: 3,206 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    I recently enquired at the passport website about countersignatures on childrens renewals.

I was told I'd need it if my child had changed a lot in appearance, which I think she has (it was almost 4 years ago)
    "I did then, what I knew then. And when I knew better, I did better"
  • mancitychick
    Options
    As a teacher I wouldn't sign the form for children I teach. I have to put some of my personal details on that form so would only do it for a friend. You can also get it signed by a license holder or a company director. Anyone you know with a small business who has a limited company can sign

On the passport info booklet they say if the contersignatory is unwilling to give you their personal details, you give them your filled-in application form and the necessary photos, docs & fee. Then the countersignatory can fill in their bit sign photos etc and seal the envelope so you can't see their personal info.
  • mancitychick
    Options
    I have an Irish passport and think there system is much better. You can't get a license holder or company director to sign it has to be a head teacher, lawyer, policeman, priest etc but they don't need to have known you for over 2 years - don't have to know you at all BUT they have to be sure of your idenity. I.E. you are who you say you are. I got my sons new H.Teacher to do mine just took ID with me to prove who I was. Also they don't need to put any personal info just their name and business address and stamp the form with their business stamp. Its a shame my children have a uk passport as I still have to go through the pain of getting theirs signed.
  • andrewmoorcroft
    Options