Help With Student Loans - HERE!

Options

Comments

• DotCapel
    Options
    Hi,

I'm planning on attacking my student debt early, to reduce the interest and therefore the amount I will pay back from my loans, and have even taken a reduced loan this year (I'm in my fourth year of Uni). However, if my student debt is wiped before I pay it off (Labour have suggested they would, but who's to say whether they will keep to that), what will happen to the extra instalments I've paid (on top of the 9% above £25k as per normal?). Would I have effectively thrown away that money, or would I get reimbursed it? Or rather, what is the more likely scenario?
  • silvercar
    silvercar Posts: 46,994 Ambassador
    Academoney Grad Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    Crystal Ball territory, but I would say it more likely that you will pay off your loan as a successful doctor than Labour wiping out student loans.
    I'm a Forum Ambassador on The Coronavirus Boards as well as the housing, mortgages and student money saving boards. I volunteer to help get your forum questions answered and keep the forum running smoothly. Forum Ambassadors are not moderators and don't read every post. If you spot an illegal or inappropriate post then please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com (it's not part of my role to deal with this). Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.com.
  • mitch2018
    Options
    1998, 1999 and 2000 loans